Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. Which solution is better?

In some countries, governments provide accommodations for citizens by building taller houses, while others expand living areas to construct buildings for people. Personally, I believe that expanding building areas seem to be not effective than making higher houses. This essay will provide suitable reasons with examples for my opinion.

There are many reasons why creating taller buildings is better. First of all, the important advantage is that governments can control population size easily by allowing a huge number of citizens to live in small areas. For example, in Japan, nearly two thousand people can live comfortably just in one hundred kilometer squares. This helps the government solve the overpopulation problem, which is a major threat in lots of nations nowadays. Secondly, by gathering mass population in one city, companies can hire many employees, which solves the scarcity of work-forces in that area. As a result, these companies will gain huge profits so they can pay employees higher salaries to improve their living conditions. This increases these cities' development rapidly.

On the other hand, If we expand areas for constructs, workers will chop thousand of trees to have lands for making accommodations. This causes pollution heavily and in long term, the people might suffer lots of issues such as flooding, weather changes, drought, or even earth-quake. Moreover, despite expanding areas is still a good choice to help citizens have space to live, but it is not as effective as making taller buildings for people. It is because they need to construct longer period and the materials cost more than build group houses.

In conclusion, I believe that creating large buildings is outweigh expanding fields to construct houses, despite this method still relate some drawbacks.