Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Critics throughout both the developed and developing countries have debated whether it is good for some companies to make an investment on sports industry for the sake of promoting their own brands. Although there are some advantages for such actions, I would argue that the disadvantages are dominating.

To begin with, the downsides of sponsoring physical activities are outstanding. The most striking problem is on the monetary manipulations on the fans due to the advertisement. Some companies often exploit the positive image of well-received sportsmen to promote professional equipment from their own brands that are usually unnecessary for the amateurs to use in daily life. Such professional equipment is often marked with overly extravagant prices. For example, the sports shoes promoted by the famous football stars are usually a few times more expensive than those meager but comfortable styles. However, due to the effect of celebrity endorsement, many fans might devote enormous money to buy those items, resulting in waste of money.

Despite the arguments above, the upsides of sponsorship, meanwhile, cannot be neglected. Undoubtedly in materialized societies, money is necessary to improve facilities and train athletes. Investment made by companies can definitely foster development of sports, boosting the performance of sportsmen for participating in international competitions such as Olympics Games and can eventually promote national image. Compared to those without sponsorship, sports with financial supports, like swimming, can often witness better achievement in international championships. Therefore, it is generally accepted that investment by private sectors can help promote sports.

To sum up, as far as I am concerned, the drawbacks of sports sponsorship far outweigh benefits, which are viable if the government can allocate enough resources and supports to. Moreover, government should also regulate the advertisement to mitigate the drawbacks occurred due to companies’ investment.