Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the governments in some countries permit their citizens to quit their jobs at any age they want. While it can create a fiercely competitive labor market for youngsters, I believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, an increasing number of young people are going to face unemployment because employers would rather hire old employees than young ones. Since with increasing age, the knowledge gained through experience increases so that the productivity of the workers also increases. Also, some young but lazy people who prefer not to work and rely on social welfare take advantage of this policy. Consequently, there is less chance for these countries’ economies to develop significantly.

On the other hand, I think that the positive aspects of this trend shadowed its negative aspects. Firstly, this trend can alleviate the strain put on public spending programs for the elderly, such as health care and pension. As old-aged people earn their own salaries, they are able to pay monthly bills and services without being dependent on the government. As a result, governments have extra money to spend on improving transports infrastructure or facilities at schools. Finally, if more and more people work to their 70s or even 80s, the economy will be boosted significantly because of rising labor force participation as well as work experience.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of letting people work for as long as they want outweigh its disadvantages.