In some countries, the difference in the age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

For the past few decades, there has been a significant rise in the number of married couples who decide to have children later in their life. This leads to an increasing age gap between generations in a family, which can result in both positive and negative outcomes. In my perspective, I believe that the disadvantage will outweigh the advantage it may bring.

At the outset, both parents and children are highly exposed to a lot of health risks due to delayed parenthood. Initially, older parental age is scientifically proven to be associated with subtle impairment in cognitive development during both infancy and childhood. According to a research study, children with older parents have lower tests scores when given tests on cognitive abilities at the age of 8 months, 4 years,...In addition to that, the rate of birth defects, risk of premature birth and low infant birth weight is also seen to be much higher in advanced parental age. Furthermore, regarding parents’ side, having to raise a baby when entering middle age with the downgrade in their health is highly likely to cause fatigue, depression and stress.

Moreover, the widening age gap is the main reason contributing to the intense relationship between family members. This is due to the fact that parents are raised and grow up in completely different environments from their children, leading to different thinking, mindsets and lifestyles. Meanwhile, the newly born, dynamic generation are much more open minded, receptive to new ideas, therefore, pursue unique and unconventional ways of thinking and living. Besides, at an older age, parents tend to be less patient and motivated to meet the endlessly increasing demand of their children. As a consequence, in all likelihood, there will be miscommunication as well as conflicts between family members. This contributes to a weakened and unstable relation due to the lack of attachment subsides and emotional bonds.

Postponed parenthood also gives rises to many issues regarding children’s benefits and responsibilities. They have less time spending with their loved ones and may have to experience a fragile relationship with their parents. However, when they grow up, they have to bear a lot of responsibilities much earlier than their peers. Taking care of old parents at a young age, paying for health services when they still find it difficult to find job and build a career not only have detrimental effects on themselves but also their parents’ living.

To conclude, I strongly believe that couples can reap much more benefits when they choose to give birth earlier.