Some countries have an ever-increasing proportion of population who are aged 15 and younger. What is your opinion of the current and future effects it may have in those countries?

Some countries witness an increasingly growing of youngsters in the recent years. While there are many people argue that this is a good trend which provides sufficient labor for economy development, there remain some disagreements against this trend. In this essay, I intend to analyze the current and upcoming consequences of this phenomenon.

Regarding short-term effects, countries which have a high proportion of young generation face a burden of bringing up and educating the adolescents. In addition to ensuring food supply and material conditions for children, it is imperative that they should well-educate the young, which leads to poverty and harsh lives in a short time. Take the case of Vietnam as a salient example. In many regions of Vietnam, there are many couples give birth to 5-6 offspring. They find hard to make living with the only bread-winner because one of two people has to take care of their children.

In terms of long-term effects, however, multifarious positive effects can be attributed to this happening. When the adolescents are over 18, which is the minimum age to be hired, a young and dynamic generation plays a phenomenal role to spur the progress of a nation. For example, the majority of young people are expected to learn professional skills related to science, engineering, medical, technology, sports and so on. As a result, a country will be enriched with a massive number of individuals with prodigious talent who could contribute remarkably to companies to ensure the development of their nation.

By way of conclusion, many naysayers oppose to the increase of young people in the population but they fail to see the benefits of it in the long-term. In the years to come, I do believe that population control programs should be adopted to balance the pros and cons of young population.