In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What are some effects?

In recent year, an increasing number of people are concerned about the phenomenon that juvenile delinquency is high increasing in many nations. They leave some negative consequence by themselves and their family.

There are several reasons why adolescents are involved in more crime. One of the main reasons comes from their family background. When some juveniles have to constantly witness domestic violence and be influence by negative role models from their parents, they will learn from the behavior of parent and use violence against others. Another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is that the media plays enormous role in shaping children’s criminality. It is very common now for juveniles to be exposed to many sexual abuse or violent scenes on TV and Internet, such as gangs, gun crimes and murder. As a result, they tend to involved in illegal activities real life.

There are some enormous effects by the increasing of the crime rate. Firstly, juvenile delinquency may lose their freedom while being rehabilitation center or placed on probation, they also will not be gone to school. In addition, in residential detention centers for adolescents they can connect with other juvenile offender, who may be more sophisticated or influential. This makes recidivism likely. Secondly, juvenile offenders also leave the consequences for their families. The family has to face the ethical issues of responsibility to the victims of the child’s crime. Families must usually attend group-counseling sessions, which can be disruptive and costly during the time when the child is in detention or on probation.

In conclusion, there are many reasons to explain why today antisocial behavior among the youth has reached a historically unprecedented high and leaving enormous consequence.