In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the state of young people after graduating and having a stable job continues to live with their parents more and more. I believe despite of positive benefits, drawbacks are more significant.

It cannot be denied that having two generations living under the same roof can optimize a number of issues. The biggest advantage is that young people's pressure will be reduced because they can save living expenses, such as housing, food, shopping,... Besides, owning a private living space is not an easy thing in an era of rising prices, especially real estate. Besides, many people have the mentality of not wanting to rent temporary accommodation but want to live in a decent space like their own house. In addition, the fact that parents and children live together also partly brings the two generations closer together. Family gatherings are no longer rare and young people have more opportunities to be cared for and grateful to their parents.

However, the increase in this trend has many shortcomings that affect both young people and the previous generation. First, this cohabitation can disrupt privacy and widen the generation gap. Active young people often have very different work and play plans from their parents, who have a minimalist lifestyle and need more than quiet. This can easily cause conflicts, tensions that are popular in multi-generational families; therefore, the mental of family members will not be comfortable. Secondly, for parents, the return of their children can be a burden. In fact, many young people rely on their parents to live more conveniently because they think they can entrust housework, child care, etc. to their grandparents so they can work with peace of mind. This affects the well-being of adults and their mental health. Finally, a further drawback is that young people have to deal with prejudices from society about sharing the house with their parents, while adults also concern about helping their children to have a full life. Thus, healthy and happy life will hardly happen without certain efforts and solutions.

In short, although living with parents has some advantages, I argue that the trouble of this outweighs its benefits when considering people’s independence and freedom.