In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries, more people prefer living with their parents after achieving qualifications and landing jobs. While there are some positive aspects of this trend, I believe that the benefits of living together outweigh its drawbacks.

There are two clear advantages of parents living under the same roof with their mature children. Firstly, it helps the children save a great deal amount of money. This is because they do not have to pay for their housing rent or purchase their own houses. In addition, monthly bills may be shared and money spent on grocery shopping can be reduced as they and their parents eat together.

However, I support the view that this is overall a negative trend. One of the disadvantages of staying in the same house is that conflicts may happen more frequently. Some young adults might lead an unhealthy lifestyle such as gluing to their phones for hours or skipping meals, which are strongly opposed by their parents. Therefore, tension can go up if they keep staying together. Another drawback is that it limits the social relationships of the children. This is because when parents and their offspring live with each other, the young adults may find it awkward to invite their friends or colleagues to their houses. Moreover, they may come home late at night after participating in parties at companies, which affects their parents in terms of sleep.

In conclusion, while living with parents is an effective way for young adults to set aside money, I would argue that the demerits shadowed the merits.