In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In several nations, there is a trend of preferring owning a house instead of renting one. This essay will discuss some elementary causes, and consider the nature of this development. Personally, I tend to side up with those supposing this is a negative one, as will now be argued.

The importance of house ownership is attributed to many reasons. Firstly, it seems to provide a sensation of stability. In other words, owning a home also means having a permanent living place without caring about searching for alternative accommodations to rent as well as short-term rental contracts which are temporary agreements. This is compounded by the fact that thanks to ownership of a house, individuals are likely to stand a chance of saving a considerable amount of money for house pricing every month, which reduces the monetary pressure. Finally, investment is also a reason for this trend. For instance, in Vietnam, after baking, the real estate market is always on top of the greatest domains that are predicted to keep growing in the upcoming time, especially in the post-pandemic period. Hence, allocating money for real estate assets, typically houses is considered a strategic method to prevent the money from losing its value due to the increased risk of inflation.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned reasons, I believe house ownership is unlikely to be a positive development. Take Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city, which are the two biggest ones in Vietnam, as typical examples. it finds hard to purchase a house, particularly in places near the city center. Each flat in these metropolises has been priced at over 6 billion Vietnamese dongs while the average annual income of citizens is many times as less as this price; therefore, they can not afford to buy it. In addition, there are some cases where low-income individuals seem to have to take a huge loan from banks and suffer from the extra payment such as year-on-year interest amount, landing taxes, electricity, maintenance costs, and so on that get added to their daily expenses. This exerts a detrimental financial burden on their shoulders and leads to the risk of bankruptcy to gain dramatically, hence, negatively impact on the economic development of society generally.

In conclusion, homeownership is caused by various factors, namely stability, money-saving, and investment. However, besides these advantageous reasons, I still believe that it is not totally a positive trend.