in some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It has been noticed that in some cultures, it is significate for people to purchasing a house. Obviously, there are numerous advantages to owning a home rather than renting one. However, I believe the strong desire of having a home would conduct detrimental impact on society and individuals.

To begin with, a large number of people want to own a home because of economic and emotional benefits. If residents have enough savings for the initial payment, it is definitely a smart choice to pay for the mortgage rather than the rental, especially in the countries where rentals are as high as mortgages. Also, the ownership of a home produces a sense of security and settlement for people. They are no longer to move annually from a temporary place to live to another one, with their children and furniture. In summary, there are two main reasons why people would like to buy a property in some areas.

To my mind, it would be a negative situation when most people want to buy a home, and nobody lives in renting houses. To the whole society, the house price will be extremely high due to the demand for buying a house. In this case, houses will be a luxury for the poor who need to save every penny for their drama homes. Individually, people, especially for the young generation, will live under great stress and may overwork for money. Even if they finally have the down payment, they would be bound by the mortgage and miss opportunities to enjoy and explore their life. Must owing a home is harmful socially and individually.

To conclude, people want to have a home for many reasons but the disadvantages of that cannot be ignored. The governments in those countries need to enforce laws to regulate the housing industry and advocate reasonable purchases.