In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

The expectation from parents of longer learning time that students should have in and after school has become ubiquitous all over the world. From my perspective, this trend is harmful to children and society, although some people argue that it drives the world to become knowledge based.

The expanding learning hours have damaged the next generation’s comprehensive development as it deprives the time children spend on social activities. In the modern society where academic pressure from schools and parents overwhelms pupils, they have to devote a considerable amount of time and effort to studying in school and at home. They have no time to promote their social ability, which they need to learn from interacting and playing with peers in their spare time, in order to equip themselves with personal skills that are essential in their adulthood. Without the opportunities to mingle with friends, young children may become alienated and difficult to work with. In this case, it is hard for the younger generation to horn well-rounded personal qualities.

It is argued that countries will develop faster with generations who are excel in academe and are full of knowledge. However, the reality may be the opposite situation that development of society will be slowed as citizens are unsatisfied with their lives. People would be unhappy or even have resentment, if their parents asked them to spend their precious childhood calculating complex mathematical problems or memorizing famous poems. Those who hold grudges are reluctant to work hard to contribute to the community when they grow up and are released from strict parental supervision. This is detrimental to the advancement of a country if the younger generations lack positive motivation.

In conclusion, the upbringing of the children and the prosperity of society would be damaged when they are forced to increase the already unbearably long time to focus on studying.