In some countries, people waste a lot of food which is bought in shops and restaurants. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that in many parts of the world, food which is obtained from shops and restaurants often goes to waste. This problem could be attributed to a number of factors, but certain measures can be taken to grapple with it.

There are numerous reasons why food is squandered, one of which is the cost of food items. With the advent of technology and innovative farming practices, cooking ingredients are becoming increasingly cheaper and readily available, which in turn leads to lower food prices. What is more, retail food outlets and supermarkets tend to offer staggering promotions to encourage consumers to buy in bulk. The impulse purchase, however, has its own demerits. Long storage and the excess of expiration date make food items eventually end up in trash bin. Another justification is that shoppers sometimes try a different dish in a new store or restaurant, hoping to have a wonderful eating experience. Yet, if the food quality fails to meet their expectation, they will feel no reluctant to throw it away.

Despite the above-mentioned reasons, several actions could be done to tackle the situation. One possible approach would be for the government to impose heavier tax on food to make buyers consider their financial loss so that they cannot discard their food items easily. A more viable step is to educate them about the value of food, and how food wastage could contribute to environmental degradation. For example, the authorities can produce some programs to showcase malnutrition and hunger facing people in various areas around the globe or deleterious impacts of food waste on the natural resources. In doing so, they could cultivate the awareness of consumers, making them reduce the food wasted. The state should also encourage restaurants and supermarkets to raise the food quality and increase its shelf life, the two major factors for food disposal reduction.

In sum, people waste their food due to a multiple of reasons, but there are some actions that could be adopted to deal with this phenomenon.