In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, there has been a trend of shopping in big out-of-town stores, which is problematic for small town-center shops and leads to the escalation in cars usages when people who do not possess these vehicles may find it challenging to gain the access to these large shops. In my opinion, I suppose that this phenomenon brings more pros than cons because of the reasons that I am going to mention in this essay

On the one hand, looking on the bright side, moving to stores that are outside the city can help alleviate the traffic congestion in the center as well as offer consumers more choices. When there are a host of shops in the center, people would flock to them and consequently causing traffic jams, which has always been a big issue in many metropolises when it directly deteriorates the atmosphere by releasing tons of emissions. Meanwhile, the bigger a shop is, the more products they sell, thus, this would not only benefit shoppers by a wide range of choices but also the whole economy by the revenue they make

On the other hand, it is obviously more inconvenient and immobile for people to travel in a long-distance despite purchasing a few items, especially for non-car-owners. In some circumstances, people do not go shopping with long lists of goods, in fact, some of them are just looking for only a couple of things that they have just run out of. As a result, it can be a big nuisance for these people to transport through hundreds of miles just to buy a few products. In addition, going to stores plays an important role in everyone’s life, therefore, without a car, many people would have to suffer more to reach those out-of-town stores

To conclude, although both positivity and negativity can be found in the favoritism of big outer-city shops. I strongly believe that its advantages can absolutely out shadow the drawbacks as it helps ease the traffic congestion in the city center but also develops the national economy