In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, the number of bankrupted small stores in town is increased due to the fact that more and more people prefer to drive to bigger malls outside the town. Therefore, this trend creates more difficulties to people who don’t have their personal car and increase the number of cars being used. However, I believe that this phenomenon more pros better than cons.

First of all, moving stores and business centers out of town could help to reduce dramatically the traffic in the city center. Normally, small stores are scattered all over the city, as a result, customers have to move to different locations in order to purchase all products they need and it causes a huge traffic number in the city center while the traffic infrastructure could not be developed fast enough to meet the traffic needs. Moreover, shopping in out of town brings more benefits. It is obvious that the bigger the mall is, the more products are sold. These shopping malls allow customers to every kind of item in one place and at one time with a cheaper price.

On the other hand, people might think that persons without individual vehicles could face difficulties in accessing out-of-town megamalls. However, the public transportation system is now well developed and allows people to access any location they want. Plus, several applications such as Grab, Uber or Lyft let people to have an affordable ride and it is more convenient for everybody to access out-of-town locations.

In conclusion, although the moving stores away from downtown area seems to have both positive and negative effects. I hold a firmly belief that this trend could bring significant benefits for customers and reduce multiple problems occurring in megacities.