In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city.

Do you think the advantages of living away from home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

The viewpoint of either it is better to live away or with the family while studying at a university in some countries varies. While living in another city can be beneficial, in my opinion, it has more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, to be independent is the main goal to master when living away from family. Personal decision-making and time management are some of the skills best learned when there is no one to do it for you. These skills come in handy, such as cooking, doing household chores, plumping and lumbering, to decide whether to study or to go out, which items to buy and how to delegate each hour of the day to meet the needs which the student might not have probably done back home.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why studying away from the family is deemed disadvantageous. Firstly, doing everything by yourself which consumes the time for studying hence, limiting the body to be rewarded by rest. For instance, thinking of what to eat, cooking, doing the laundry, cleaning the apartment, and even budget constraints to fit the allowance for grocery, bills, and rent which, therefore, the student will eventually resort to fast food that leads to unhealthy eating habits and poor sleeping patterns. In other words, most of the time is being consumed by personal responsibilities.

Secondly, the lack of guidance, physical and emotional support from the parents might lead the student to give in to peer pressure and consequently neglecting the studies. Through time, the family could overlook the child's activities. For example, the school-aged, particularly the adolescents, engage in antisocial behaviors, such as drinking, smoking, premarital sex, and the worst is, being involved in crimes due to homesickness and allowing bad influences to take over.

In conclusion, given the pros and cons of living independently away from family for schooling has undeniably outweighed the merits of the demerits.