In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

A more developed world as today does not have a high opinion on immediate university studies anymore. Instead, a gap year between high school and university is getting more popularity. From my perspectives, this choice has both pros and cons as following.To begin with, a gap year is extremely beneficial. Firstly, a free year can provide students with a myriad of experience and knowledge. they can challenge themselves in different positions, jobs and responsibilities. Moreover, in this year, they have an opportunity to meet and learn from numerous people. As a result, students are more likely to find their passion, which is undoubtedly crucial when choosing their study field in the future.

However, this decision also has some negative points. In particular, after a year out of school, students are easy to forget their academic knowledge such as maths, literature or geography to the university entrance exam. In addition, when they retake it, there will be no friends of teachers besides them to boost their determination and motivation. they will stand a chance of falling behind other candidates. Consequently, the gate of university will be far away from them.

Taking everything into consideration, spending a year after high school for work and travel have two sides according to one’s personal situations. Whether of not to do this should be regarded carefully.