In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this day and age, in some nations youngsters are encouraged to work or travel for a year after graduating from high school and starting university education. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the government are encourage youngsters to take a gap year before enrolling in university. Firstly, taking a gap year will provide them with more opportunities to travel or work in order to gain hands-on experience, allowing them to focus on defining their long-term goals and preparing for the academic life. For example, after graduating from high school, you will be befuddled by a plethora of major options and future career prospects, you spend some time searching for your ambitions as well as analyzing job trends in that year. The second benefit of taking a gap year is that it will allow them to earn money through professions related to the industry they want to work in, which will be of great benefit for their future career path.

On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of taking a gap year that people should take into consideration. The principal one is that taking a gap year means that they do not study for one year. As a result, your studies skills may have diminished, making it harder for you to adjust to life in education when going to universities. This can be particularly true for mathematics or physics students, or any course that involves complex theoretical processes and techniques that may not be used outside of the classroom.

In conclusion, taking a gap year before entering university to travel or work could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.