Some educational systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

Some people argue that students should pay attention to particular fields at the age of 15, while others believe that they had better be taught a variety of subjects until graduating from school. This essay will discuss the advantages of each point of view and explain why I reckon the former opinion would be better.

On the one hand, children can benefit from studying all the subjects in many ways. Firstly, they will have wide knowledge in every aspect of life, which is derived from what they have learned at school . This assists them to make up their mind more wisely in any situation since they will be able to consider things from a multi-dimensional perspective. In addition, should students not have a clear orientation for their career in the future, learning a large number of courses will help them recognize their passion, which assists them with the most appropriate job selection.

On the other hand, in my opinion, acquiring knowledge from specific branches of study will bring students even more merits. First and foremost, instead of wasting time on unnecessary subjects, they will have more chances to focus on the fields of their own interest. Additionally, more time can be spent on extracurricular activities such as sports, volunteering, talents, etc. Both of them will provide them with not only hands-on experience but social skills as well. Last but not least, it goes without saying that students can fully understand their needs and develop deep insight into their current major. With such firm groundwork for future employment, they are more likely to be recruited for a well-paid job and be promoted to a higher position wherever they work.

In conclusion, each of these two educational systems has its own strengths and influences children in separate ways. But I do believe that in terms of achievements, skills and career potential, teaching students specific subjects should be more preferable.