Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as

drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary curriculum. They

believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Looking from an educational perspective, educationalists have long been holding a belief in the interrelated association between students' academic achievements and artistic merits. Personally, I totally concur with this viewpoint and affirm that the inclusion of arts-based subjects in the mainstream curriculum will bring numerous benefits to learners.

For a variety of reasons, the notion of introducing arts, such as music and drama, as core subjects in secondary education is not a novel proposal. While students can greatly benefit from science courses by training themselves to be better at dealing with numerical data, art-based courses are expected to bring a balance to the functions of brain hemispheres. Thanks to such an interdisciplinary training programme, students can fully unleash their potentials. Another reason to support this new role of arts in the national curriculum is related to the mental effects it might have on children. Unlike science in which learners are required to have a high level of concentration, classes delivering these forms of art generally

have quite a more relaxing atmosphere. As a result, this will cause a shift in their attitude towards learning, from negative to positive. Having said that, without the official implementation of the Ministry of Education, some educational institutions might perceive the art field as redundant and leave it out of their scheme.

The advocate of arts in compulsory discipline does not stem from the personal

preference of artists but from its practical implications for improving students’ academic merits. Learning and practising how to transform invisible strings of thoughts into tangible artworks help sharpen children’s logical thinking and problem-solving skills. These will be of importance to learning progress as students will be able to logically classify their knowledge and filter out unnecessary information. Better still, art can become a vehicle for relaxation after tense hours of academic training. Enjoyable lessons with a focus craftsmanship will be effective in helping students recharge their battery before getting to scientific terminologies.

Taking everything into consideration, the significance of arts-based programmes has manifested itself in the positive influences arts might have on pupils performance. Th that the ignorance of arts in the curriculum will be a huge loss for education.