Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

There exists a style of management, according to that hardworking employees are encouraged by incentive premiums. This mean may lead to rise of results in company or, conversely, to decrease of staff performance. This essay will first discuss how effective this form of motivation is, and it will then address the question of what other ways of motivation and encouraging can be applied for better work.

Firstly, extra payments given to efficient employees is universal practice which is applied worldwide successfully. It is a fact that overwhelming majority of people get a job in order to earn money and secure their families. Therefore, in case person has an opportunity of getting extra money for performance, he/she tries to work more intensive as people always wish to afford more than they have.

Discussing ways of encouraging members of staff, the theory of management should be considered, according to that there are ways of motivation without material encouragement. These means are based on person’s need of being engaged in social group and need of self-realization. The first way of reward collective for considerable result is providing cooperative recreation in the nature or parties. Furthermore, it allows make staff more friendly to each other. The second way to encourage employee and, moreover, make his/her work better is various professional seminars, master-classes and conferences. Consequently, workers not only feel a satisfaction of their mental needs, but they also improve their knowledge and skills.

In conclusion, extra money as an encouragement is an effective style of management in case it is given to those contribute exceptionally to the enterprise. Means such as parties and joint rest for staff can be applied as an encouragement for significant achievements instead of premiums or in addition.