Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a second language has become mainstream nowadays regardless of their first language. According to some expert, primary school is the best place to learn a foreign language rather than secondary school. Teaching young children a completely new language at an early stage has some benefits along with disadvantages.

The ability to memorize is higher at an early stage. Young children can acquire knowledge quicker than an adult. As we grow older, we tend to become good at understanding logic and losing the power of memorising which is essential for learning grammar. Moreover, every language learning process is consist of memorizing a large number of words which is easier for children.

Apart from that, learning a new language requires a great deal of time. Which every child can have while being in primary school. The volume of study in primary school is a lot less than secondary school so that, the teachers in school can have an adequate amount of time to teach the foreign language. Moreover, children can dedicate more time at home. Therefore, the entire process is much easier while studying at primary school.

On the flip side, intensive concentration is essential in order to learn a language which a young child struggles to deliver. Research shows that any child under eight years of age can only focus about fifteen minutes per hour which makes the teaching time much longer. Apart from that, learning another language may disrupt learning the native language. Children may confuse vocabularies between two languages and even develop a foreign accent. For instance, English medium students in Bangladesh, cannot talk properly in Bengali and they tend to talk Bengali with English accent.

To conclude, learning a foreign language at school may have some pitfalls but the benefits it brings with it is greater.