Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Experts are of the idea that it would be ideal for children to learn a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school. The advantages for these beliefs are outweighed by disadvantages as primary school children are less mature and many tend to forget a learnt subject.

Primary school going children are at an age where they are optimistic and eager to learn and explore new subjects. This is an advantage to teach them a foreign language from this young age. The language teaching to such a group will be considered fun as it would be something new, as compared to their elder siblings in secondary who may perceive learning a new language as difficult or even boring. Thus more primary children can be taught a new language like French easily especially if one of their classmates is a native of the language learnt, who can inspire them to learn and use the new language.

However, on the other side, due to their immaturity primary children may not understand the importance of learning a foreign language. If a student has no exposure to speaking it on a regular basis in the case of both parents not knowing the language they may tend to ignore what they learnt. Consequently, most of these students will forget the language as they reach their secondary level and even in future where it would be needed to interact with foreign people for example while touring a foreign country or interacting with a foreign exchange student.

To conclude, I believe teaching students while in secondary is better as they would have a better memory and grasp of the importance of learning the foreign language, which they can later utilize in life.