Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

Language institutions make considerable profit in recent years, it’s due to people are getting to realize how important languages are. In European countries, it’s common that people master more than two languages. It comes to an argument that what the ages are suitable for children to learn a second language, in primary school or wait until later. In my view, the advantages from learning languages earlier overweight the disadvantages.

There are two absolute reasons suggesting children should learn foreign languages at primary school. The first one is that children would learn language more quickly when they are younger. There are researches prove human brain’s functional area of language is completed during age 2 to 7. In that time, children’s ability of learning languages is more active than any other ages. If children aim to master a second language as well as their mother language, they should begin to learn at primary school. Another reason children should learn languages early is children would learn a new way to think while they are learning a new language. In some ways(in some repects; in some sense), language habits represent a nation’s culture and thinking model. From building different language habits, children may catch glimpse of a new sight to the world and get training to think problems comprehensively.

On other hand, disadvantages of learning a foreign language at primary school include giving children too much pressure and distracting children from learning their mother languages. Fortunately, these disadvantages could be avoided by advanced learning system.

To restate my opinion, children should begin learning a foreign language at primary school. Comparing to above advantages, the disadvantages are even ignorable. The gain from learning a foreign language earlier is not limited in the language area, but many other aspects in children’s growth.