Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there has been an ongoing argument that the beginning of learning second languages at primary school is much better than secondary school, according to the expert’s view. This trend introduces both pros and cons, but I take the view that the benefits do far outweigh the drawbacks.

There are a few disadvantages when implementing this idea. Since children are fond of playing much more sport games and puzzles, learning a new language seems hard for them. Besides, these games stimulate not only their curiosity about the world surrounding them but also the strength of their brains, which in turn helping them to develop fully in terms of physical and mental health. Therefore, knowing another language might be not necessary for children in this period.

Apart from demerits expressed above, it still has a plethora of merits, which is more significant in my belief. First, when the students access a new language early, they have more chances to study and improve their skills to be professionals in the future. Besides, in this period, their capacity to remember things is twice as fast and effectively as people from other groups. Indeed, in the latest research, the authors claim that the earlier children adapt to a new language, the more they are adept at lingual. Second, learning another language is also helpful in virtue of the knowledge about culture and lifestyle. English, for instance, provides the learners with British culture or exhilarating things about the United Kingdom, which children could utilize to enrich their understanding.

All in all, the minor disadvantages will never prevent us from concluding that knowing foreign language early is not excessive, but extremely useful.