Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the advancements in communication systems, the relation among nations has been increased markedly. As a result of this, learning a foreign language at an early age has become a controversial issue in the global village. Some experts claim that primary school is the best place for learning another language instead of secondary school. I firmly believe that there is a defensible basis for this argument.

The proponents of this view discuss that there are many reasons behind of their claims. The most important one is about recent research. The studies have shown that the children between 4-9 ages have a great opportunity to learn new languages. Also, they clarify their claims by an example, a survey among 200 pupils, has shown that the above mention ages have a crucial role in children building character and developing their personality. Moreover, give the special care and settle down proper curriculum could be much beneficial for them in this way. Consequently, because of carefree mind children can catch more points in this level.

In parallel, I personally side with this idea. The key point to justify this attitude could be illustrated by a personal tangible example. A couple of years ago, I met a German family with an interesting story. To cut the long story short, Lucas, the first child of the family, has started learning the English language at secondary school and now the level of his English skill is almost intermediate. Conversely, his sister has started English and France together at primary school. Now, she can speak very fluently both of them. On balance, beyond a shadow of a doubt, the primary school can pave the way for learning a foreign language easily. Although, it should be considered that the method and atmosphere of the school play a key role in learning.

All in all, we should own up to the fact that learning a foreign language has become a key factor in our lifelong. It goes without saying, having a strong basis in a new language can uplift us towards prosperity. Primary schools are the best places to enhance our children's language ability. Also, in this special span, the pupil’s minds are dead ready to catch an awful lot of new things and what could better than learning a second language than that.