Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

As a result of advancements in communication in the global village, being a multilingual has been becoming a basic requirement in educating. That leads to a hotly debated topic about the idea education stage to introduce a foreign language to the students: at primary school or at secondary school. I strongly believe that teaching new language to young children has far more positive effects than hamful impacts.

The first benefit of starting learning a foreign language at primary school is that the children at 4-10 ages have much greater potential to pick up new languages than those from other age groups. Many studies have shown the ability to remember things faster and more effective in young children. In addition, they are comfortable making mistakes and souding foolish, which are the most dauting hurdles in learing a language process. Some would argue that at such a young age, children have not yet been fluent in their own mother tongue. Therefore, learing mutiple languages in primary classes can cause the confusion between the child's native tongue and the foreign language. However, with the frequency of using mother tongue in the native environment, combining abilities of fast learner, this problem can be solved quickly.

Moreover, students can take advantage of the less pressure curriculum at primary school, compared to higher grade levels, in order to get familiar with a new language. For example, I was first introduced to English when I was at grade 6 in secondary school, and I could not properly concentrate to the something else besides my core subjects like maths, literature and physics. By contrast, when the general education program changed, my younger sister had earlier exposure to English at grade 3, she easily spent time figuring out the most suitable study method for her.

In conclusion, apart from minor disadvantages, educating children from young age to be multilingual facilitates the learning languages process afterwards because of their innate abilities and suitable academic program at primary school.