Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child have a large number of toys? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern age, some parents believe showering their children with presents which consists mostly of large toys is a way of showing their affection for the children. In my own point of view, I am of the opinion that everything should be in moderation so to enable the children explore without being constrained by large toys only. This essay will outline the disadvantages and advantages of buying children large number of toys to play with.

On the one hand, children having large amount of toys to play with which were gifted to them by their family has 2 advantages which will be discussed in this paragraph. Firstly, having varieties of toys to play with helps the children to have confidence and sense of security to play on their own. Thereby, giving them the chance to explore different kinds of toys they have which will prevent them from getting bored. Also, this will give them a sense of belonging. For instance, they will be able to recognise what belongs to them and have the intuition to protect them. Secondly, this will help with their mental development and likewise they will acquire some if not all of the skills needed for early learning Thereby, giving them an edge amongst their peers in school which in the long run benefit them educationally.

On the other hand, having too much toys to play with could end up confusing the child thereby dazzling them. First of all, this can deter the children from exploring other things which could help with their developments for example, playing in the garden or in a park when the weather is decent which could help their physical development such as learning how to climb and also running. Secondly, their confidence level might be affected. For example, they might not have enough confidence around other children because they are not used to playing with others which could result to them withdrawing and having negative effects on them later in life.

To conclude, buying large number of toys by parents for their children to play with has it own pros and cons. But buying a reasonable amount of toys for children to play will help them explore other things and not confined to playing with their toys only and this will therefore help with the confidence level and also acquire social skills.