Some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past decades, people have differing views about whether leadership skill is instinctive or acquirable. Personally judging, while it is often stated that leaders are naturally destined, I am of the opinion that this skill can be comprehended. In this essay, I am going to analyze the aforementioned opinions and give reasons for my supported one.

On one side of the argument, there is a portion that believes leadership is hereditary. In fact, it is understandable that a virtue can be transcended generations. A typical example illustrating this statement is Samsung Group, a South Korea-based conglomerate company. Established in 1938, Samsung has been one of the most thriving companies on a global scale. This great progress has been maintained and developed by the lead of blood-related sons of its founder for nearly a century until now. Therefore, the perspective of inherited leadership is reasonable.

However, I would argue that there is almost nothing that people cannot learn, including leadership skills. I strongly concur with those who claim that there are several factors that make a person a great leader, such as discipline, resourcefulness and empathy. For instance, Barack Obama is the first African-American president of the United States. Thanks to his strong determination and inspirational speeches, he has made America great in various socio-economic aspects during his appointment. His father is not a president, but he has proved himself worth this honored position. Thus, leadership is also acquirable for those who desire it.

To conclude, although the basic factor contributing to leadership can be controversial whether it is natural or learnable, I still stick to the latter viewpoint. In other words, I strongly believe that leadership can be acquired theoretically and practically.