Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the blooming of the air travel industry, despite its great utility, it has been proven to be the most significant factor contributing to serious pollution, climate change and natural exploitation. In my opinion, there should be a restriction in air travel services which will be replaced by electric planes or other environmentally friendly vehicles.

To commence with, the sharp increase in the number of flights all over the world for the past few years has posed a great threat to the environment as well as the future of the earth. Initially, according to a number of researches, airplanes have been proven to have discharged the most significant amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere everyday. This is the most likely reason to result in bigger holes in the ozone layer, along with an unprecedented rise in global temperature and finally, climate change. Furthermore, the air travel industry also takes up a large proportion of the world’ natural resources which have been under the risk of being used up quickly. The process of creating a plane, putting it in operation and repairing definitely require an enormous amount of gas, oil and other resources.

In addition to that, the overdependence on the air travel of many countries is highly likely to exert a negatively profound impact on the global economy. In recent years, air travel finds its way as one of the most lucrative industries which generate billions of dollars each year, and make great contributions to a higher national revenue. This has made the economy much more vulnerable when Covid 19 arises. Many big countries in the world have experienced a great crisis since a plenty of giant travel agencies have reported to have gone bankrupt.

To conclude, in my point of view, I strongly agree that government should put a limit on air travel and pave the way for a more sustainable means of travelling.