Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some people arguing that allowing children to make their decisions in almost all matters could lead to a society being full of selfish individuals, while others believe that children should not be deterred from making choices that influence them. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that all of two statements can be accepted.

On the one hand, I think children who are allowed to decide without hampering may become stubborn. In more detail, these kids would not care about any people around them, but only focus on their desires. For example, some kids could cry intensively until their parents buy their favourite toy despite the fact that it is too pricey. Moreover, allowing the young to have powers to decide every matter of their life such as clothing, eating habits and so on may produce self - centred individuals. Particularly, these children would believe that the world revolves around them. For instance, human psychology illustrates the siblings of the rules are mostly mean due to lack of inhibition during brought up. It seems that the parents should keep a check on their children’s activities.

On the other hand, I believe that the young generation have the right to make choices about matters involving influences on them. If the kids are not allowed to decide for themselves at some points, it could affect their performances in life. For example, a child could be stressed and tired of learning a major that is not his or her desire due to the parents’ requirement, so they get low grades. In contrast, allowing the kids to make decisions could help to build their independence. In other words, these young generations would have more chances to choose what they learn, what they do and be responsible for their own choices. Clearly, it is crucial to give the powers for the young to decide certain matters in their life.

In conclusion, both views have valid points, however, I strongly believe that each statement can be acceptable. It is necessary to give the rights for the children to make their own choices, but they should be limited to some extent to not become a selfish adult.