Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is argued that to be successful in any sport one should have an extraordinary talent whilst others believe that by hard work and regular practice one can achieve wonders in any field whether it is sports or anything else. This essay agrees with the statement that an athlete should focus on hard work and regular practice. This essay discusses both viewpoints.

It is widely accepted that not all are born with some special abilities but one can always make better what he has by putting full efforts into it. As we have today plenty of athletes, do these are all very special in their respective fields? We all know that by performing an activity number of times, we eventually master it. For instance, Virat Kohli was clumsy during his initial period of career, while now with so much concentrated efforts he has achieved milestones that no one has till now.

However, hard work and doing the same things will not help anyone. One should always look for required qualities before trying too hard in any field to achieve success. This means that not all are made for any particular sport or field. Consider an example of Hima Zaveri, she tried her level best to get selected for archery in the Olympics but in the end, it turned out to be a futile effort. As she came to know that she doesn't have good eyesight which is very essential for that sport.

In conclusion, though it is all about hard work, practice and some amount of natural abilities that are needed to reach the top of the game, still hard work and periodic practice are essential to any field.