Some people believe that the best way to encourage children to have a healthy diet at school and some people believe that parents should teach them to have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that schools should promote a healthy diet among students. However, I believe that parents play a more crucial role in forming healthy eating habits for children. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and provide reasons for my point of view.

Firstly, some schools hold some extracurricular activities such as Q&A contests or debates for students to find out more about a balanced diet. Therefore, students can easily put the knowledge gained into practice by eating healthily at home. Secondly, students are motivated to eat healthily at school. This is because students, especially, teenagers tend to be affected by their peers. As a result, when most students opt for healthy diets, others feel the need to do that as well.

However, I support the view that parents should develop healthy eating patterns for their children. To begin with, parents are often responsible for cooking for their offspring. Hence, during the early childhood of children, parents should help their children to build a healthy diet. For example, they can try to balance the proportions of food on the children’s plate and encourage their offspring to eat vegetables, which most children may detest. On top of that, parents have a great impact on their children. Thus, parents should set a good example for their children. In this way, children are more likely to stick with healthy eating habits when growing up.

In conclusion, although school could help improve students’ understanding of a healthy diet, it is important that parents teach their children to make good food choices as early as possible.