Some people believe that children should listen to and obey their parents. Others believe that children should think and do things on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the proliferation of contemporary lifestyles breeds a wide range of dilemmas in the parenting role. Indeed, the question of whether children should be completely obedient their parents, or should act independently according to their thoughts has been a debatable issue in the education field. Although obeying the parents could be beneficial to some extents, I would argue that children should be given the opportunity to think on their own.

On the one hand, some people claim that offspring should act in obedience because of several reasons, which are related to the valuable experiences from their parents and the healthy relationship with family members. With regard to the former, children could easily make wrong decisions due to insufficient appropriate guidance from adults. A typical example for this is that homeless children are likely to commit the crimes than the ones from normal families, which are provided with full of useful advice from their fathers and mothers. Another reason is that children who are obedient tend to have happier relationships with their parents because they could avoid unnecessary arguments, which may increase the pressure on relationships.

On the other hand, I believe that in spite of numerous benefits of obeying parents, letting children make their own decisions could result in more favourable outcomes. The most prominent of which would be that these individuals will be more independent and confident than the ones obeying totally to the parents’ orders. This is due to the fact that these children will face many challenges and obstacles that they need to overcome and they must be responsible for their all decisions. As a result, they will gain invaluable experiences for their whole life and become more successful in future.

In conclusion, although parents prefer the offspring to obey their guidance, it seems to me that letting them make up their mind and think on their own is a wiser choice.