Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that both group and individual sports have no bearing in the school educational plan. However, in my opinion, they are necessary for pupils’ development, and I will give the two main reasons below.

On the one hand, engaging in physical activities not only burn calories and build muscle but also reduce stress and depression. In addition, in this digital age, it is not difficult to see the vast majority of children gluing to the screen, playing games, or chatting with friends, which leads to a sedentary lifestyle. Lifting the importance of sports in school programs lets them get rid of being technological-inclined, instead, they will take part in sports that are suitable for their physical condition.

On the other hand, each kind of sport has its own advantages. Playing individual sports such as swimming or tennis teaches players, especially young people, to have the opportunity to develop independence, eventually, they can be encouraged to step out of their comfort zone. In the game, they have no one to help when in need all the time, therefore, they are forced to think independently and make their own decisions. Meanwhile, those who choose to play team sports are taught to work effectively in a team environment and even sacrifice themselves for the sake of the team. During the game, each member is boosted by other members' support, so they always make every possible effort to achieve their goals.

In conclusion, I firmly support that both team and solo sports should be included in the school curriculum as students’ leisure activities are as crucial as academic subjects to their development.