Some people believe that construction of new public buildings such as museums, town halls and sporting facilities is more important than renovation of the existing ones, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Construction of brand new public facilities or renovation of existing ones has created a lot of public attraction. It is often argued that facilities used by common people should be completely new rather than renovating, while others believe the opposite. I believe in the latter notion as maintenance and preservation of old, historic buildings and places carry a county’s heritage and culture.

A growing body of research suggests that old museums, galleries, town halls, and sporting facilities covey information and culture about a nation. This is because these places are massive repositories of knowledge to know a civilization better. Therefore, any investment which could be made towards the renovation and refurbishment of these facilities will only benefit the particular nation by passing the heritage to the young generation. Apart from that, these places regard as the major tourist attraction and thus play an important role to generate revenue. For example, the Taj Mahal in India, a monument of love serves as an example of unconditional love for the whole world as well as a means of revenue generation for India. Hence, it is essential to keep our histories alive through these facilities.

However, many believe public money should be spending on manufacturing new facilities instead of maintaining an existing one. One important issue is that renovation might need way more investment and resulted in outcome might not gain as popularity as new ones. Moreover, in a matter of time, the ancient facility may need to repair again. Many ancient forts or monuments, for instance, necessitates multiple renovation and reconstruction and thus causing a huge financial burden to policymakers.

In conclusion, while protecting and preserving public facilities benefit their nationals through sharing culture and heritage, there can a financial issue to maintain them. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, overall, their renovation is beneficial for society.