Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that students who study abroad will bring numerous advantages to their countries. However, I partly agree that having students studying abroad is useful for countries.

On the one hand, I agree that when students study oversea, their countries can substantially benefit. Firstly, international students can deploy the advanced knowledge they gained from other countries to develop their home countries overall. Specifically, they apply it suitably into the contexts of their countries to improve their countries in various fields, especially science and technology. For example, in Vietnam, lots of students, after accomplishing tertiary education abroad, come back and contribute significantly to their motherlands in terms of economy and education. Secondly, international students play a crucial role in promoting their countries’ images. In fact, several students who are currently pursuing higher education oversea are influencers on some social media platforms. Therefore, their countries’ cultures are promoted and become widely known in the countries they are learning in.

On the other hand, brain drain is a major concern. Nowadays, many students choose to pursue their careers in developed countries instead of going back to their home countries. This may be because they are of the opinion that their motherlands cannot offer as many opportunities to move up the career ladder as the developed ones. For example, in Vietnam, after winning the Olympia contest and be offered scholarships to study abroad , only 3 over 18 winners came back to build their careers. As a result, some countries would lose talented students who are probably be able to boost the countries’ development faster.

In conclusion, I would argue that governments should adopt some policies to attract students to return to their countries after completing their education abroad.