Some people believe that educating children altogether will benefit them. Others think intelligent children should be taught separately and given special courses. Discuss those two views.

In recent years, children education has been given higher weight by the general public. Many adopt a view that in order to generate elite students, children who have exceptional ability should be gathered in special classes and given specialized education. Admittedly, this educational philosophy can bring tremendous benefit; however, every coin has two sides. In the following essay, the pros and cons of this teaching method will be discussed.

On the one hand, it is important to recognize that gifted children can capitalize their talents, maximizing personal development if they are arranged in special classes. Anecdotal evidence shows that ordinary curriculum which is widely introduced into school is not appealing to prodigies, giving them room to promote their talents. For this reason, it is common that many education systems allow their student to skip trajectory provided that they perform well or pass the exams of higher classes. Furthermore, to low-achieving students who have difficulty in catching up with high achievers are not subject to the feeling of depression, frustration, worthlessness when their peers or classmates as plain as each other.

On the other hand, as every garden has its weeds, this teaching method has a problem that should be taken into account. Firstly, treating children differently drives slow students to feel inferior to others, resulting in further problems such as lower performance as schools. Additionally, it is ignorant that educators measure student’s ability based on the school record, academic subjects because that many children possess hidden talents in areas such as playing instruments, drawing that are not educated properly at schools. In other words, authorities should have second look on classifying students and teaching them in special classes.

In conclusion, it is a dilemma to evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of educating intelligent students differently, separately from ordinary students. Although grouping students and giving special courses gives a nutritious environment for the personal development of gifted children, the feeling of discrimination and the doubt of paid effort among low achievers should be taken into serious consideration of educators.