Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but they should be concerned about the quality at work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly growing controversy regarding the significance of setting a dress code at work. While many argue that employees should be left free to pick up what they wear at work and employers should focus on the work efficiency instead, there still remain disagreements as to this issue. Overall, it is my personal view that either employees’ dress or the quality at work is equally important.

Some people view wearing a uniform irrelevant to one’s work performance and will not yield any positive effect in the workplace. While it can be true with office worker who spends most However, upfront workers, such as receptionists, should be presentable enough to receive customers or guests. Another good example is those people who meet others face-to-face wherein one’s attire may leave either good or bad impressions. This is especially true among businessmen. In these situations, even though how you present yourself with your fashion preference may not directly affect how you carry out your responsibilities, it could affect social interactions which are important in such jobs.

Only focusing on the quality of work could indeed boost productivity. But this also unfortunately takes a heavy toll on the company profitability. Being committed to the quality of work, some employees, workaholics in particular, will spend too much time improving their work performance and then pay less attention to what they should eat, how much they need to exercise and what kind of clothes they had better wear. If this lasts too long, they will suffer a sense of inferiority complex and become less confident, particularly in the world where every single individual emphasizes appearance.

In conclusion, although one’s clothing preference or dress code at work does not directly influence productivity, its relevance is worth considering depending on the nature of work.