Some people believe that government money should be spent on important things rather than arts such as painting and music. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that it is essential for the authority to prioritize expenditure on public services such as health systems, education instead of the arts like painting and music. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that artist support is worthwhile in terms of both cultural and economic benefits.

First of all, the arts reflect the culture of a social section in a country, which is almost neglected these days. This is because newer forms of entertainment like online games have emerged. Therefore, preserving the art and passing it to the next generation is of great importance and the responsibility of the government. While it is true that individual members of the public are partly responsible for preserving a country’s literary and artistic heritage, these sources of financial support alone are insufficient.

Furthermore, the art industry is huge and can be a great source of income for a city or a country. A key reason for this is that the leisure industry has experienced a dramatic boom in recent years. Therefore, the public demand for the entertainment of all kinds continues to grow. For instance, thousands of tourists flock to experience the works of art in the Louvre in Paris, to see a Shakespeare play in England, or to listen to live music played by their favorite performers and genres of music.

In conclusion, although important sectors such as health and education should be the top government priority, I disagree that the arts should be a waste of public money.