Some people believe that the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the measures for coping with the traffic congestion has become a contentious issue. Some people advocate that constructing more train and subway lines is the best solution, while others believe that the expansion of roads is more beneficial to deal with the traffic problems. Conspicuously, this issue requires our in-depth analysis.

There is a belief that increasing the number of trains and subway lines can mitigate the burden of traffic system. As train is the public transportation that is able for a large number of passengers to use at the same time, it can facilitate the system to reduce the number of users using the roads and thus alleviate the problem. Similarly, building subway lines enables the road users to have other alternatives to commute, therefore, releases the capacity of the roads to lower the traffic congestion.

In sharp contrast, however, it seems to me that constructing more and wider roads is a more efficient and effective countermeasure. it is undeniable that train and subway lines are able to be commuted by a great deal of people, nevertheless, the aforementioned way cannot provide a convenience compared with driving their own cars. people tend to travel in a comfortable way rather than share the area with strangers. Hence, increasing the number of roads or expanding the existing roads are more specific and effective owing to people's preferences. In addition, constructing new trains and subway lines required tremendous time and investigation that cannot rectify the situation immediately, while it is relatively shorter for widening the roads.

By and large, I firmly believe that in terms of time and effectiveness, increasing the areas for the road user to drive is the better measure to mitigate the traffic congestion immediately.