Some people believe the government should spend money building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others, however, think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is still controversial that which possible solution to ease traffic congestion should be applied by the government over past decades. Although it is true that developing road systems is likely to be a good method, I believe that investing in train and subway lines is a more feasible measure.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why building and widening more roads contribute to the reduction of traffic jams. Firstly, since road infrastructure in almost cities is often designed to accommodate the specific number of vehicles, expanding roads to provide more space for the increasing private vehicles, especially cars, is vitally necessary. For example, it has been proven that Ho Chi Minh city has been improving most of the prior road systems to handle traffic density. Secondly, there is a dramatic rise in commuter numbers from suburban areas to metropolises for work on a daily basis if the government did not spend on developing new roads, heavy traffic is inevitable.

On the other hand, I believe that spending the government’s funds on public transport is more effective to ease traffic congestions. First, since rail and subway systems are constructed underground, this allows traffic flows on roads to become less dense. In fact, almost large cities in developed countries, such as America and British, have built public transportation to reduce traffic density on road systems, which is really a positive way. Second, public transit is cost-effective and productive than private vehicles for commuters, so if these commuters are encouraged to travel to cities by rails and subways, car numbers might considerably decrease. Thus, traffic jams on road infrastructure can be tackled.

In conclusion, while the development of road infrastructure might leads to the reduction of traffic congestion, I argue that the construction of train and subway systems is more effective.