Some people believe the government should spend money building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others, however, think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion. ( 3 )

It is still controversial that which possible solution to tackle congested roads should be applied by the government. Although it is true that developing road systems is likely to be a good method, I believe that investing in trains and subway lines is a more feasible measure.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why constructing and widening more roads contribute to the reduction of traffic congestion. First, since recent road infrastructure in metropolises is inadequate, expanding road systems accommodates both cars and buses. For instance, Saigon has been improving most of the old road networks to provide more space for types of transport, and this leads to the alleviation of traffic jams significantly. Moreover, due to the rise in commuters travelling by individual vehicles, developing new roads connecting to large cities is enquired to meet demands of moving. If the governments did not spend on constructing the network of roads, they might struggle to overloads on road systems.

On the other hand, I believe that by taking advantage of public transit, the problem of congested roads can be solved more feasibly. Firstly, since public transportation can transport a number of passengers, the quantities of private vehicles on roads can be reduced significantly if inhabitants switch to use this means of transport. In fact, Europe has seen a dramatic decrease in the figure of cars when subway lines were constructed. This results in tackling traffic jams effectively. Secondly, as trains and subways offer commuters affordable commuting costs and precise moving schedules, they tend to leave their private cars at home, and travel by such modes transport. Thus, alleviating the high volume of traffic on road networks, and traffic congestion might be relieved successfully.

In conclusion, while the development of road infrastructure might lead to the reduction of traffic jams, I argue that the construction of train and subway systems is more effective.