Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion Discuss both views and give your opinion

Traffic jam is a pressing concern that most societies have to confront nowadays. While a school of thought agrees with the idea of allocating more governmental funding to constructing train and subways facilities, some other people argue that enlarging roads will be the potential strategy to solve this problem. This essay will shed light on both views before presenting my personal perspective.

It is understandable why so many people are in favor of building more and wider lanes to eliminate traffic congestion. This is mainly because the more space the vehicles have, the less crowded the streets are. If national authorities distribute a budget on road infrastructure by enlarging main roads and constructing more lines in densely-populated cities and metropolitans, traffic participants can have more choices to travel without concentrating on the sole routes. Take Singapore as a typical example, thanks to investing in building roads, the volume of traffic at rush hours significantly decreased, from 87% in 2012 to 42% in 5 years later. Besides, finance is a considerate-worth aspect. Instead of an enormous amount of money on train and underground transport patterns, widening roads only accounts for a small proportion of the national budget. Therefore, governments can focus on more urgent issues such as health care and education.

Despite some arguments mentioned above, I strongly believe that constructing railways as well as subway lines is the more efficient solution for the problem of traffic congestion. Firstly, due to the fact that the space on the ground, especial in large cities, is increasingly shrinker and smaller, allocating money on road system can be unfeasible. On the other hand, the demand for utilizing vehicles of citizens for commuting rises rapidly. As a result, making use of the space underground can relieve the gravity burden on the available road system. Secondly, investing in train and subway lines may accelerate and encourage using public transport for the sake of the environment. This kind of method can redistribute the flow of traffic transport, directly contributing to reducing congestion situation.

In conclusion, building more and wider roads can be a proposal for tackling the traffic problem, but the effect of investing governmental funding in underground systems is completely more striking.