Some people believe that government should spend money on new building rather than renovating existing building. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government spending has always been a debatable issue especially with the constructions. While the government spends their money for constructing new buildings can result in various advantages such as population emigration and local city activation, renovating existing buildings can be beneficial financially. In my perspective, while I understand that the constructing of new buildings can provide various important facilities that can encourage people to move between cities, renovating buildings can be financially saved and which money can be used for the better communities.

Construction of new buildings has advantages for the areas to improve its environmental view by providing various important buildings. When the government is constructing new buildings, usually those are necessary for those areas such as public health facilities, entertainment complexes, hospitals and schools. With the introduction of newer facilities can lead to a population emigration between cities in order to get the opportunity to try for modernized and cleaner environments. Thus, it can help the areas to have modernized look by constructing various building structures.

However, constructing a new building can take lots of time and money for the government. In Perth, for example, budgeted the money for more than $ 30 billion to design Marine City to be similar to Singapore but which took more than 20 years to construct and due to this delayed in construction causes traffic jams. In opposite, in the case of Melbourne, they renovated their cities every year because of wear and tear, so the money saved from doing renovation instead, had used to improve public health systems – elderly pension services, school facilities and hospital development supports. Therefore, from these two cities use of government monies, we can conclude that the government budgets should use to renovate on buildings so that the rest of monies can be used to improvement of other public benefits and entitlements.

In conclusion, the budgeted money from the government to be used on creating new buildings in the areas can have short term attractiveness from the public as well as financial issues. Therefore, it will be better to use government money on renovation and enhance the public entitlements.