Some people believe that it is better to build new museums and town halls instead of renovating the old ones To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

It is true that buildings are the face of a city Therefore, some people say, it is better to build new museums and town halls in order to beautify the city centers instead of renovating the old ones. However I totally oppose this argument because of the reasons mentioned below.

To begin with, old buildings are not just buildings but they carry a tradition and culture to new generation. By demolishing these buildings , we will loose remaining monuments about our culture and tradition. But renovating these building and keeping it intact is good for many reasons. First and foremost, children can get a authentic and direct knowledge about the old tradition and culture. Knowledge about the history and tradition children usually acquire from text books and pictures which will not make any impact about those things, in children minds. However feeling and experiencing things makes a lot difference in children, they never forget something they have saw and touched directly. For example, stories about Mysoor palace ( a famous palace in India built by Tippu sultan) may not be interesting for children unless they see it directly. Another point is, these buildings are a treasure of old sculpture, which is priceless and cannot reconstruct by the current generation.

Moreover, the huge expenses, relating to construction of new museums and town halls will be a burden for the government. Instead government can use this money for other developments which is necessary for the society such as infrastructure and health care sector. However renovation is less expensive than the new building construction . Hence, governments can save a significant sum of money by renovating these old buildings and keep them as intact monuments for our ancestors.

To conclude, renovation museums and town halls is the better approach towards these buildings than constructiong new ones.