Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sharing is said to be caring. Thus, some people claim that it is beneficial to be transparent with information in every institution such as technology or academia. Meanwhile, some advocate to keep the information private depending on its priority for its ownership. This essay will try to elaborate both perspectives, providing my own preference in the end.

Firstly, the advancements in media and telecommunication in recent days are aimed towards better contribution of information and data. Illegally or legally, we cannot deny that we are bombarded with abundant information nowadays. More outlets of news and resources certainly facilitate our productivity and improve our output to be more contributive. In addition, the rife of news and information, regardless of the fields, gives the audience or targeted people the time for precaution in case of upcoming problems or challenges. For instance, the transparent data of economies of countries amid the covid-19 pandemic highlights the probability for the global recession, according to the various press. It led the governments and business sectors to be more aware of the crisis and more focused on how to overcome or avoid this tendency. By preparing necessary measures such as more collaboration or consultation between stakeholders, the so-called assumption will sooner be evitable.

On the other hand, some against the previous opinion since they believe that not all information should be displayed to all. Understanding the ease of performance, such transparency will also impose some outrageous risks or danger. Technically saying, the news about the success of a new threatening chemical weapons night also shed light to the criminals or terrorists to further trace the result which will unnecessarily lead to more dangerous situations. Thus, some information, whether it is business or politics, should be put under the rug, considering the side-effects it will pose to the public.

Personally, I share the same concern with the second advocate. Therefore, it is inevitable that the News and resources become abundant and will be more in the future. Nonetheless, excessive sharing of information ought to be prohibited.