Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the scientific world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Research is key in humanity as it allows for growth and development, sharing of its information has however been an issue of debate. Some suggest the unlimited sharing of scientific, business, and educational materials. However, others think it’s too valuable to be given freely. I agree with the later, as the effort of the researcher ought to be financially rewarding. This essay will elucidate on both views.

On the one hand, the more information shared the faster the advancement in research. The intellectual information shared allows for advancement on the result because more minds ruminate on it and come up with a better and more advanced solution. For example, the Wright brothers who invented the airplane made their materials public and this led to accelerated growth in the aviation industry. Also, the sharing of information about the discovery of penicillin from a fungus allowed for the development of a more potent antibiotic. Knowledge is progressive, thus various fragments should be shared to enable the world to attain its expected goal faster.

On the other hand, scientific research, business plans, and educational works are intellectual property. Scientists and researchers devote time and effort to develop research and this ought to be purchased. Freely giving business formulas will result in competitors gaining an advantage. To illustrate, coke had kept its secret formula which gives its unique taste from its competitors, and this has kept them in business for generations. I believe information should not be shared freely and researchers ought to be able to patent their works to engender more zeal.

In conclusion, sharing of educational and research information helps humanity speed up development. However, I believe this should come at a cost payable to the researcher, in other to allow for the willingness amongst the research community.