Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is commonly believed that sharing information is beneficial in the field of scientific research, business and education. While I strongly believe that exchange of knowledge is useful and constructive, I also think that sharing valuable information more than required can have negative impacts.

One of the advantages of sharing knowledge with others is to gain more insights into the concerned topic. Other parties may hold some information which could be crucial for further development in a particular scientific research. Engaging with them to acquire such noteworthy knowledge may prove to be helpful to the research rather than repeating the trial and error method due to shortage of data, which can be time consuming. In the world of business, sharing ideas can lead to collaborations among conglomerates to manufacture more efficient products which can benefit the consumers in the long run as well as prove to be lucrative for their businesses.

Another benefit would be development of social skills through interaction, especially in the sector of education. Sharing of knowledge and wisdom among students can be conducive to learning and development and eventually can lead to better result overall. Students obtaining higher grades can help weaker students by proving them with necessary help and sharing their sufficient knowledge from experience so that the latter do not feel a setback.

However, sharing of too much data freely that are valuable or exclusive to the particular sector, can be detrimental to the individual as well as the society. Even the world history has witnessed devastating consequences for this action. The world still reminiscences the misuse of the theoretical formula developed by eminent scientist Einstein during the Second World War that brought about destruction in Japan. The Japanese are yet to recover from that dreadful memory of nuclear bombing. Besides, disclosing secrets to others may result in losing the genuine credentials behind the work. Finally, if the data are to be shared then it should be done on a substantial amount or at the least with certified patent.

To conclude, active learning and nurturing of abilities may require exchange of knowledge to function fully, it should be done with careful monitoring to prevent harmful consequences.