Some people believe that it is impossible to help everyone in need around the world. That is why governments should only focus on helping people of their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

As the government of any powerful country cannot help all the people of the entire world, it is believed by some people that the focus should be limited only on domestic citizens. I personally think this opinion is narrow minded and naïve especially under the rapid development of globalization, which makes the action of government has spill over impact on the entire world.

Surly it is true that no matter how powerful a government is, it cannot save everyone, thus domestic citizens always should be the first priority. However, helping foreign country in need is definitely more than just for the interest of others. Most of the time, the action could positively impact the generous helper as well. For example, the Fukushima nuclear disaster in Japan caused serious radiation leak in sea water, which could be a substantial danger to the neighbor country. To tackle the situation, not only the Japanese government put great effort, but also a lot of Asia pacific countries, like South Korea and China.

What is more, the generous spirit to help those in need is the great trite of mankind, is what make the difference between civilization and barbarian. We, human, indeed need the assistance from each other to build a better society together, regardless of the country boarder, which probably disappear soon under the unstopped globalization trend. Countries which share resemblances have already maintained special relationship in a wide range of social economical perspectives. For instance, UK citizens, Australian citizens could maintain dual nationality, which makes it impossible to not care for the people from other countries. The EU union, though shaking on the edge of collapse, even abandoned the idea of country boarder that free movement within the whole EU just like walking around in one country.

Anyway, globalization is the unavoidable future, and only focusing on domestic issues is definitely shortsighted and narrow minded. At the end, it is humanity and liberalism that make us a civilization.