Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From the beginning of civilization, policy makers have sought ways to reduce crime. While it is considered by many that the most effective way to reduce criminality is lengthy prison stay, others think that crime can be better tackled by other means. I believe that through proper education and community engagement crime can be prevented at the first place from happening.

It is also believed by some that longer imprisonment is more effective to reduce crime in a longer term. The idea behind this school of thought that longer term imprisonment is more effective than social education and similar and is perhaps driven by the fact of not allowing antisocial people to be free in the society. As a result, they will not get an opportunity to commit crime and spread violence to the society. This will also save the future generation like children and youth from getting manipulated by this negative behavior. Hence, this practice will reduce crime from happening in general.

I, however, agree with others who believe that imprisonment is not the best possible way to reduce crime. There are many offenders who suffer from drug addiction and mental health issues including antisocial character disorder which sometimes comes from abuse in their family. Proper childhood by the parents and schools is critical in this regard. It will not only lower the number of offenses s but also prevent it from occurring. In addition, these potential high-risk group can be educated about the danger of breaking the law. Another possible way of reducing crime would be launching community engagement service and addiction rehabilitation program for teenage and youth addicts. Such knowledge will encourage community engagement which will ultimately prohibit the next generation from going into the dark path of crime and will ultimately decrease the crime.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion on how to make the society a crime free place, I consider proper education and adequate community service of juvenile delinquents are two ways to reduce crime.